Strawman

The sun is sinking
And my lips are dry
Everything is missing
And I can’t figure out why

Did all this really just happen?
I’m standing on the edge
I feel embryonic
Not yet full-fledged

I saw a sphere
And it growled at me
I don’t need you behind me this time

Go on
Strawman
Nothing is good enough I know
Walk on
Oh man
This life ain’t good enough you know

Were you even listening?
Did you feel the gravity?
It didn’t need christening
Only sanity

Our life was right here
And now it stares at me
I don’t need you behind me this time

Go on
Strawman
Nothing is good enough I know
Walk on
Oh man
This life ain’t good enough you know

Funny it’s all behind me
And I’m icy alone
With a steel resolve and
A spine made of stone

I’ll just grasp at this here
Crumbling and disintegrating
I don’t want you behind me this time

Go on
Strawman
You didn’t think I would good enough oh no
Keep going
Strawman
Our love wasn’t strong enough I know
I know

(Written 10-20-2023 at 17.39, while listening to Pearl Jam’s “Gone”)

Leave a comment