Let It Go (Too Far Gone)

Came here from the city
To this musty motel room
The street light there and the empty stairs
Sure some honeymoon
I don’t feel much like dreamin
I’m sure you understand
I’m in much too deep now
But I do what I can

Back into the ghetto
Some slummy cholo street
Where I swore up and down and all around
I wouldn’t stay more than a few heartbeats
I don’t feel much like dyin
At least not yet today
So I keep to myself
And do my best to make my way

Too far gone
Long ago
Who’d’a thought
You never know
Let it go

I think back to the heartland
And all I’ll never admit to
It’s all changed now, I don’t know how
I’d forgotten people like you
I felt so much like leaving
You don’t know what I went through
And I never give it a second thought
To say goodbye to all I knew

Yet another new city
Trudging up the stairs
Lost and found, the struggling sound
Of not getting anywhere
I don’t feel much like sleepin
You probably don’t understand
The memories are fading now
And I’m not sure where I began

Too far gone
Long ago
Who’d’a thought
You never know
Let it go
Let go

***

(Written Sat 18 Apr ’09 @ 17.19; fleshed out 15 Oct ’12 @ 12.22)
(To Nouvelle Vague’s “Don’t Go” (cover, originally by Yazoo))

***

Note: This piece is a fuller flesh-out of “Don’t Feel Much

Nouvelle Vague – “Don’t Go”:

Leave a comment