Churchill

In the darkness I pray for daybreak
Never happy
Till the sun comes
In the mirror I’m just a stranger
Confused and lifeless
Pale and hollow
There’s a shadow around every corner
Sitting, waiting
Teasing, baiting
There’s an angel sitting on my shoulder
Eerily silent
Must be sleeping

If I can find another moment, like the good one that I had
So many years ago, before the breaking bad
I think I’d like to tell you, but would you even hear
Am I really sitting with you, or do I only think you’re here
In Churchill

In the rain I pray for sunshine
Clear it away
Make me warm and dry
I reckon every trial has its purpose
Come and try me
Just walk by me
There’s a shadow in every closet
Check each door and
Turn the lights on
There’s an angel sleeping on my pillow
Oblivious
Hope he’s still alive

If I can find another moment, like the good one that I had
So many years ago, I got too mad
Every time I think I see you, you simply disappear
The fragments in my memory, are all that I have here
In Churchill

When you see me, don’t be frightened
It’s that I’m just empty
I’m just broken
In the pictures we’re not just strangers
At least we weren’t then
Never were then
There’s a shadow in every barditch
Staking ambush
Run right through me
There’s an angel sitting on my shoulder
Hope she’s ready
Who will get there first

The crumbling sidewalks and the teardrops, are the most I’ve ever had
You might even think it’s funny, or you may think it’s sad
Every time I think I know you, you prove insincere
Everything I thought you were, is all that I have here
In Churchill

(Written 10.17.2013 @ 0915-0930)
(To Gary Jules “Mad World”)

Leave a comment