Someone Palatable

Crawling down a dark wet tunnel
Can’t see me under here
Scratching at my skin
Can’t see where I’m going

What’s going on up above?
What are the normal people doing?
Are they tapping each other on the shoulder?
Are they grabbing a bite to eat?

And I’m down here by myself
Got to make this journey alone
No one would understand anyway
Only I know

Maybe in the morning I’ll wake up
Maybe then I’ll be born as someone else
Someone funny, someone palatable
But how would I even know?

Wash me in the creek
Wash away all that I was
All the monsters, all the pain
All the memories, everything I’ve been

Tomorrow comes with a kick
Morning breaks hard and bright
But here it is, another chance
Wide awake to face it all
I promised myself I would stand proud

I will not be ashamed
Keep me on the path
Give me what I need
Keep me straight and narrow
Lead me on the way

Wash me in the creek
Put the bindi on my head
Meditate with mantras
And rise above my bed
Something had to give
I kept the promises I made

Maybe in the morning I’ll be OK
Maybe I can become someone else
Someone pretty, someone strong
And a steel-trap heart
So I won’t ever hurt again

***

(Written Sun, 12/29/13 @16.30p)
(To Mystery Jets’ “Someone Purer”)

(Video is an awesome fan-made one! Good sound quality of the studio version of the song, and the video is actually better than the “official” one!)

Here’s a video guaranteed, at this time, to be ad-free:

Leave a comment