The River

I walk down a lonely road
Because I got no other place to go
The desert lakeshores should be comforting
But they don’t take away any pain
I’m still left wondering what happened
I’m still confused about my part in it
I think it stems from long ago
When first came the rain

I walked up
My antenna on
And I saw you
Hunched over inside
I spoke first
Asked simple questions
Trying to bridge a river
As wide as a valley
And I best be leavin’

I stare down at this lonely road
Because there’s no other place to go
Seems I’ve worn out my welcome
All it was was a good run
And then you built the wall again
Exactly where the old one had been
Suddenly I can’t do anything right
And everything I do and say is wrong

I closed up
Shut it all down
How many times
Can I say I’m sorry
I guess I should’ve
Seen it coming
And now there’s a river
As wide as the valley
And I best be leavin’

Apparently I’m not smart enough
Apparently I’m not good enough
That’s the way it’s always been
At least as long as I can remember when
There’s not much left to talk about
I guess I failed when you went without
Somewhere there must be an answer
With any luck I’ll find it before we die
I’ll walk up
Antenna on
And say I’m sorry
For whatever it is I did
And with luck
You’ll turn to me
And you’ll tell me
That I’m not a failure

And maybe
This lonely road can become
A bridge across this river
That’s as big as a valley
And if not, I best be leavin’

(Written 02.23.2014 @ 1430-1445)
(While listening to Craig Finn “Western Pier”)

Leave a comment